BMW i
Forum for the BMW i3, i4 and i8
BMW i3 BMW i8
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

  BMW i Forums > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-23-2019, 01:47 PM   #1
Solidjake
\_(ツ)_/
Solidjake's Avatar
Poland
488
Rep
1,100
Posts

Drives: '13 328i Msport 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NYC/Philly

iTrader: (2)

Need help with triple monitor setup (SOLVED)

Hey guys. I'm trying to finally get 144hz on all three of my Asus VG248QE monitors paired with my PNY GTX1060 6GB XLR8 card. I tried different cable combinations and it won't allow the last monitor to stay at 144hz. I tried 3x DP, 2x DP 1X DVI+, 2x DP 1X DPtoDVI, 1x DP 1x DVI 1x DPtoDVI.. you get the gist. All drivers up to date.



Any advice to get that third running 144hz would be great. Thanks.



https://www.pny.com/geforce-gtx-1060-xlr8-gaming-oc



https://www.asus.com/us/Monitors/VG248QE/
Attached Images
     
__________________
Tensioner/belt DIY | Side skirt extension DIY

Apex SM-10/PSS | 400m/X-ice Xi3 | Injen Intake/Exhaust
Stoptech SS Lines | 335 Brakes | Hawk HPS 5.0 | RBF600
Bootmod3 Stg 1 93 | ER Charge Pipes | Wagner Evo Comp 2 FMIC

Last edited by Solidjake; 08-24-2019 at 09:18 PM..
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2019, 01:58 PM   #2
ntgarage44
Captain
ntgarage44's Avatar
United_States
701
Rep
833
Posts

Drives: '17 M3 Mineral White 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (2)

If you unplug one of the 144hz monitors, can the 60hz monitor reach 144hz? Trying to eliminate sources of the problem I can think of.
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2019, 09:18 PM   #3
Solidjake
\_(ツ)_/
Solidjake's Avatar
Poland
488
Rep
1,100
Posts

Drives: '13 328i Msport 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NYC/Philly

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntgarage44 View Post
If you unplug one of the 144hz monitors, can the 60hz monitor reach 144hz? Trying to eliminate sources of the problem I can think of.
I tried and it did not work. I forgot to mention that the DP on the third monitor is not working for some reason... So when I used DP (on the gpu) to DVI on that monitor the monitor does turn on and work capped to 60hz but plugging in DP-DP it has no signal. I might have to borrow my friends monitor and see if it's the monitor. ffs
__________________
Tensioner/belt DIY | Side skirt extension DIY

Apex SM-10/PSS | 400m/X-ice Xi3 | Injen Intake/Exhaust
Stoptech SS Lines | 335 Brakes | Hawk HPS 5.0 | RBF600
Bootmod3 Stg 1 93 | ER Charge Pipes | Wagner Evo Comp 2 FMIC
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2019, 09:28 PM   #4
Banana Hammock
Beefcake
Banana Hammock's Avatar
3307
Rep
705
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (2)

You might be hitting the Maximum Digital Resolution of the card. Try setting all of the panels to 120hz or lower.
__________________
Akrapovic | Alpha-N | ARC | IND | KW | Varis | Volk | Vorsteiner
@kontradictions
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2019, 10:05 PM   #5
Solidjake
\_(ツ)_/
Solidjake's Avatar
Poland
488
Rep
1,100
Posts

Drives: '13 328i Msport 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NYC/Philly

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banana Hammock View Post
You might be hitting the Maximum Digital Resolution of the card. Try setting all of the panels to 120hz or lower.
Tried that. Set the other two lower and the third is still capped to 60hz. It won't even give me any other option than 60hz.
__________________
Tensioner/belt DIY | Side skirt extension DIY

Apex SM-10/PSS | 400m/X-ice Xi3 | Injen Intake/Exhaust
Stoptech SS Lines | 335 Brakes | Hawk HPS 5.0 | RBF600
Bootmod3 Stg 1 93 | ER Charge Pipes | Wagner Evo Comp 2 FMIC
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2019, 12:31 AM   #6
yco
ignorance is bliss..
yco's Avatar
656
Rep
893
Posts

Drives: E71 X6M '10
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Istanbul & Kyiv

iTrader: (0)

when they re all double linked, and when you lower the resolution if it still doesnt give you higher hz.. then its probably the limit of the card or the combination limit.. to verify you might contact Asus..
__________________
"Race car driving is like sex. All guys think they're good at it." Jay Leno
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2019, 10:47 AM   #7
WingZeroX5
Colonel
WingZeroX5's Avatar
United_States
647
Rep
2,243
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (12)

A similar problem, but he has a 1080 and solved it by windows update.
https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce...tors-at-144hz/
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2019, 09:18 PM   #8
Solidjake
\_(ツ)_/
Solidjake's Avatar
Poland
488
Rep
1,100
Posts

Drives: '13 328i Msport 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NYC/Philly

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by yco View Post
when they re all double linked, and when you lower the resolution if it still doesnt give you higher hz.. then its probably the limit of the card or the combination limit.. to verify you might contact Asus..
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingZeroX5 View Post
A similar problem, but he has a 1080 and solved it by windows update.
https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce...tors-at-144hz/
Thanks for the help. I did some digging online and for some reason Asus monitors have an issue where they lose the DP signal/connection and need to have the power cable disconnected. I did that and it worked perfectly. All three running at 144hz.

__________________
Tensioner/belt DIY | Side skirt extension DIY

Apex SM-10/PSS | 400m/X-ice Xi3 | Injen Intake/Exhaust
Stoptech SS Lines | 335 Brakes | Hawk HPS 5.0 | RBF600
Bootmod3 Stg 1 93 | ER Charge Pipes | Wagner Evo Comp 2 FMIC
Appreciate 1
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.




bmw
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST