BMW i8 Forums BMW i8 General Discussion

03-31-2017, 02:09 PM   #1
tobytw
Registered
Rep
Drives: C350 coupe, i8

i8 in snow?

Hello everyone,

Newbie here, first, this is a great site, I have spent about 2 months here going through pretty much all the thread all the way back to the very first page. I understand that this topic have been answered but just wanted to get a bit more information regarding driving the vehicle in the snow/winter. I am getting a 16 i8 that will be arriving the dealership next week. Can't wait!!

A little bit of background, I am located in loop area Chicago, currently has a Mercedes c350 coupe AWD. I will probably get rid of it in the future, why? I am single with no kids. There are usually only me and my dog in the vehicle. I have no need for 2 cars. But if I wanted to downsize to i8 only. I want to seek opinions from people who has experience regarding driving the vehicle in winter/snow during the winter. I am asking based on using all the stock wheel and tire without using the winter wheel/tire package from BMW. I know we have at least a couple owners from the area, would love to hear from their experiences.

Last, English is not my first language so please excuse if the grammar is terrible.

Thank you all for your time, any suggestion and ideal would be highly appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2017, 09:51 PM   #2
stressdoc
Dominica
Rep
Drives: BMW i8; Toy 4runner TRD pro

You MUST use snow tires in winter. Just get a set that you can put on the stock rims.
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2017, 05:09 AM   #3
Aye-eight
Major
Switzerland
Rep
Drives: 2015 BMW i8

Garage List
I have the winter wheel package and it works great. I think a simple wheel swap is a lot easier than replacing the tires on the rims twice a year.
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2017, 05:14 AM   #4
MrBreezenovel
Private
Rep
Drives: M4 Calf T 911, GTS, RR S Class