Rep
Drives: M3, M3, M5, M5

Garage List
2008 BMW M5  [0.00]
2017 BMW i3  [0.00]
2005 BMW M3 Coupe  [0.00]
2001 BMW M5  [0.00]
Thoughts on a used i8 as a DD?

I've been enjoying the i3 as a DD, for 100-120 miles/day, far more than I expected to.

That said, this spring we're going to move, and my commute will go down to ~15 miles/day... and my wife's will be going up to ~40 miles/day, so she'll be taking over DDing the i3.

Simultaneously, I've noticed the i8 values have gone down stupidly fast.

Which leads me to my question-- thoughts on using a used i8 as a DD? Seems like most of my commute would be in it's EV range, and when I came upon a fun road I could burn some gas. If they're reasonably reliable, seems like it might combine the best of both worlds for not very much money.

I'm not expecting Toyota/Lexus reliability-- prior to the i3 I've been DDing M cars for 17 years, 2 of which are now rapidly approaching 200,000 miles.

Side note: I don't find getting into or out of it to be a deal breaker PITA, so that's not really a concern for me in DDing it.

Semi related side question: any chance of small children (just getting into forward facing) fitting behind average height wives in the i8?

2005 M3 Coupe, 2004 M3 Wagon, 2001 M5 Sedan, 2008 M5 6MT Sedan, 2012 128i M sport
Appreciate 1
IamFODI365.50
      12-24-2019, 10:07 AM   #2
clu7ch
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: m5

I daily and have a forward facing car seat in mine. It's not too bad. I would make Sure it has warranty though
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2019, 10:15 AM   #3
Obioban
Emperor
Rep

Garage List
2008 BMW M5  [0.00]
2017 BMW i3  [0.00]
2001 BMW M5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by clu7ch View Post
I daily and have a forward facing car seat in mine. It's not too bad. I would make Sure it has warranty though
Why’s that, specifically?