BMW i
Forum for the BMW i3, i4 and i8
BMW i3 BMW i8
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

  BMW i Forums > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-05-2018, 01:18 PM   #1
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
715
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

USB question ***update RAM*** resolved

Merry New Year peeps

Question, got my daughter a Inspiron 15 3000 LT,
runs as slow as a dog on win10, might try killing off some bloatware
and try expanding from 4gig to 8

But I only realized I cant put a docking station on it as it doesnt have a docking port. SO I have to go with a "generic port".. So here is the question

I'm looking at this product Linky somewhere here

it says it is a USB-C, now on the LT there are 2 usb ports 2 are USB2 and 1 is USB3

is the USB3 port compatible with the USB-c looking at all 3 usb ports they physically look the same

I want her to be able to just plug one connector into her laptop and then that takes power/single monitor/ keyboard and mouse.

http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=110048
Attached Images
  

Last edited by jaye944; 01-10-2018 at 07:08 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2018, 01:23 PM   #2
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
715
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

also this USB connection doesn't look like right connection
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2018, 02:25 PM   #3
tjswarbrick
<(O0=[][]=0O)>
tjswarbrick's Avatar
United_States
433
Rep
944
Posts

Drives: 2012 N55 E88
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (1)

USB 3.0 is generally on an "A" connector, but with a blue instead of black/gray tab.
USB-C is a different physical interface.

So, yes, the USB3 port on your laptop should be compatible with the USB-C connector on the dock. You'll just NEED to make sure you use a quality USB 3.0 (or 3.1) -compatible USB-A to USB-C cable.

My LG V20 has a USB-C port. I can connect it to Type 2 and Type 3 ports on laptops, chargers, in my 1-er and the wife's Pathfinder, etc. Charges much faster on Type 3!
__________________
2012 E88 M-Sport 135i DSB Metallic
ER CP, ZHP Knob, E60 SSK Lever, E92 M3 FSB, RSFB inserts, Koni Sport, Eibach Pro, UCP, MPSS, AP axle-back, MHD Stage1 91
<(O0=[][]=0O)>
Appreciate 1
      01-05-2018, 03:22 PM   #4
tracer bullet
Lieutenant Colonel
tracer bullet's Avatar
United_States
616
Rep
1,745
Posts

Drives: '11 135i , '15 X3 35i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Saint Paul, MN

iTrader: (1)

SSD drive would probably see your biggest speed gains, if you're up for the work.

Was thinking I could help, but my wife's new laptop had an actual USB-C port, and yes it's much different than what we've come to think of as a normal USB plug-in. It plugs the laptop into a small brick that handles the monitor, mouse, keyboard, peripherals, and even powering the laptop battery all at the same time.

I think for that laptop I'd be looking for something that was USB 3 to begin with. Plugable has a good reputation.
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2018, 03:29 PM   #5
zx10guy
Lieutenant Colonel
1719
Rep
1,995
Posts

Drives: 2013 135i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: DC

iTrader: (0)

While I think you can use that docking station with the right adapter, it won't charge the laptop too. Your laptop has to have a native USB C connector and support for power. I have a Dell Precision M5520 for my work laptop. It has a Dell docking station which plugs into that USB C port. Not only does it provide port replication but will power and charge the laptop too.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lups View Post
We might not be in an agreement on Trump, but I'll be the first penis chaser here to say I'll rather take it up in the ass than to argue with you on this.
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2018, 01:30 AM   #6
Chelsea_Tractor
Major General
Chelsea_Tractor's Avatar
No_Country
3179
Rep
5,660
Posts

Drives: X5M
Join Date: May 2013
Location: X

iTrader: (1)

If by any chance she uses her laptop in fixed locations by a power source then look for a docking station that requires an external power supply as this can help to meet power demands and speed things up a little. Otherwise you have however many ports running off the output voltage of one port. Let's just say if you plugged in two mobile phones without the additional power then both would charge slowly.
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2018, 10:33 AM   #7
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
715
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

hey guy's txs for all the input.

We've decided to semi-permanently fix it (and also to monitor any issues)
on the kitchen table, she has an ipad to take around with her, so this is mainly for
her school work.

So a dock is kinda moote now.

But when I was delving into the BIOS

I noticed it had a message/error words to the effect of
"The usable memory may be less than the installed memory"

I'm guessing that's why the OS is acting like a dog, all the 8gig machines where sold out. No wonder. Dell shouldn't really sell a machine like that.
It gave an option to upgrade for $100, but still wouldnt let me order it. LOLZ

So I'm gonna try and get into the machine and add another SDRAMM, spec says DDR4,
SDRAM 2133 meg

I also updated the Bios and a couple of other things from the DELL site.

From the looks of it, you have to take the machine apart, no panels to remove
like on my tosh, sucks balls that
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2018, 03:48 PM   #8
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
715
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

sorry another question Crucialram site did a scan on my ram also showed 2400meg
can i mix 2400 with my existing 2133 or should I stick with 2133

I guess the manufacturer will also be different

is that ok or should I get a matched pair

txs again
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2018, 04:22 PM   #9
zx10guy
Lieutenant Colonel
1719
Rep
1,995
Posts

Drives: 2013 135i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: DC

iTrader: (0)

In theory, the faster 2400 MHz memory should down clock and run at the slower 2133 speed of the existing memory stick. I however didn't have any luck doing that with a Dell R730 server. Ended up swapping out the memory so everything was either 2400 or 2133.

The good news is you used Crucial's online memory configurator. Crucial guarantees the memory suggested by the tool to work 100%. If it doesn't, they'll make it right. But if you want to err towards caution, then get matching 2133 RAM.

On installing the memory, you should be able to pull down a field service manual from Dell to show you how to upgrade the memory and hard drive on that laptop. Just enter the service tag and then go to manuals.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lups View Post
We might not be in an agreement on Trump, but I'll be the first penis chaser here to say I'll rather take it up in the ass than to argue with you on this.
Appreciate 1
jaye944715.00

      01-06-2018, 08:42 PM   #10
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
715
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

txs ZX, yeah there are a few YT vids on it

a real pain

with my old tosh, it was really sensitive about mixing and even some brands of memory
problem is the place I shop at canadacomputers is there returns policy on non-working
ram... faulty yes incompatible no
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2018, 07:12 PM   #11
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
715
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

So successfully swapped out the RAM.
I got a 4k 2133 ddr4 by g-skill for $80 (inc tax)
took it apart and plopped it in. Has made a difference.
But still slower than my 7 machine.
Could be all the bloatware.

Weird thing thought, the BIOS reported DDR4 2133meg, BUT another DELL built in diagnostics program reported 2400meg, when pulling it apart it was 2400, so I've got a mixed 2400/2133. Which I was worried about, I guess it'll clock to the slower 2133.

Also the OEM chip was ALLDATA ? or something like that, which surprised me.

Anyway, txs for the replies

Oh the OEM upgrade from the factory was $100, so saved a little something something
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.




bmw
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST