BMW i
Forum for the BMW i3, i4 and i8
BMW i3 BMW i8
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

  BMW i Forums > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-24-2018, 05:20 PM   #1
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
718
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

advice on i3 and i5

OK, so some options, and would like your opionions

I currently have a tosh sat. 8 gig, win7, i3 17"
and it's fine, about 4 years old ?

So I use my LT for internet, music, DJ'ing, Porn (who said that ) and making video's,

I also want to start making, "4 track videos" that is record my self playing piano, then dub over it me playing guitar, backing track, etc but using Video

I DONT like win10, may have no choice... but here's the options


1> Upgrade cpu from i3 to i5
2> Get a newer i3
3> Get an i5


so with option 1> I have researched and there are some i5 which should fit in the socket, but don't know if extra heat will be an issue, bottlenecks or the bus will be able to handle it

if a NEW laptop, will (for my applications) be worth me going i5 ?
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2018, 05:22 PM   #2
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
718
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

I've seen a viable laptop i5 8gig 15" but win10 for 700bucks
an upgrade for i5 off amazon will run anywhere between 50-150 bucks
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2018, 09:55 PM   #3
Banana Hammock
Beefcake
Banana Hammock's Avatar
2507
Rep
555
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (1)

The i5 will be much better for making videos than the i3. Depending on how much of your work load involves making videos, you might actually want to consider an i7 or the AMD equivalent. The extra cores and higher clock speed makes all the difference in that kind of use case.
__________________
Appreciate 1
jaye944718.00

      01-26-2018, 11:18 AM   #4
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
718
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

txs

so is it worth just upgrading the CPU or getting a new machine ?
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2018, 05:08 PM   #5
Banana Hammock
Beefcake
Banana Hammock's Avatar
2507
Rep
555
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaye944 View Post
txs

so is it worth just upgrading the CPU or getting a new machine ?
Typically, the amount of improvement you get from an older vs newer CPU isn't much when you're going from one generation to the next (Skylake to Kaby Lake or Kaby Lake to Coffee Lake). So it's not really worth it to change up if you're only going up 1 generation or 2.

However, it's MUCH harder to find older processors unless you're willing to dip into the used market. Assuming your PC was brand new when you got it 4 years ago, you probably have a 4th generation Haswell so the jump to the current 8th gen is quite substantial. Going from an i3 to an i5 Haswell probably isn't going to be much of a difference for you but the i7 does look like a good upgrade. However heat might be an issue especially in a laptop since TDP is higher.
__________________
Appreciate 1
jaye944718.00

      01-27-2018, 11:15 AM   #6
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
718
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

Great txs for that,

It's pretty much looks like I'm steering towards getting a new LT then.

All the new ones have win10, which I hate, Maybe I can just load up win7 on a new one instead.

Use my existing laptop as a media device for my home hi-fi setup

txs again !

Quote:
Originally Posted by pasghetti View Post
Typically, the amount of improvement you get from an older vs newer CPU isn't much when you're going from one generation to the next (Skylake to Kaby Lake or Kaby Lake to Coffee Lake). So it's not really worth it to change up if you're only going up 1 generation or 2.

However, it's MUCH harder to find older processors unless you're willing to dip into the used market. Assuming your PC was brand new when you got it 4 years ago, you probably have a 4th generation Haswell so the jump to the current 8th gen is quite substantial. Going from an i3 to an i5 Haswell probably isn't going to be much of a difference for you but the i7 does look like a good upgrade. However heat might be an issue especially in a laptop since TDP is higher.
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2018, 04:08 AM   #7
ztx84
Private First Class
56
Rep
123
Posts

Drives: 2018 G30 540i x drive
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Devon, UK

iTrader: (0)

I'd agree that a new i5 machine is probably the way to go. The jump from the i3 to the i5 processor is fairly substantial, and the price shouldn't be too much more. The i5 is pretty much good for most things, unless you are doing professional video editing etc, in which case an i7 or i9 is the way to go.
Appreciate 1
jaye944718.00

      01-28-2018, 11:58 AM   #8
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
718
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

just as a conmparison

"all things being equal"

Would win10 run better/faster on

i3 8gig
i5 8gig

txs
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2018, 03:58 PM   #9
amgraham
New Member
41
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW X5 x35d
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

There are a number of sites that provide benchmark results if you want to see the relative performance for various tasks.

Assuming you're talking about the same generation of both, the i5 is the "sweet" spot in terms of price/performance. Of course, if you don't end up using all of an i3, then the i5 isn't worth it. Obviously, the i5 is capable of running Win 10 "better".

As has been addressed in other threads, an SSD is really crucial to extracting the most performance is disk io is the bottleneck on most computers. That and I'd look for something with discrete graphics. You certainly aren't going to get "workstation" grade graphics without spending a bunch of money but.... $700-ish or so should get you at least an i5, SSD and discrete graphics.

If I were you, I'd pick up an SSD for the old machine. It'll breathe new life into it... I have an satellite that's probably 4-5 years old. When I got a new machine, I replaced the hard drive with an SSD, added some memory, gave it to my daughter. Does everything she needs to do, which includes some video editing.

The difference in time required to render videos and rip BDs between my i7/960M notebook and my Ryzen 7 1700/RX 580 desktop is HUGE. The notebook is no slouch but man... the rip/render times on the desktop are 1/5th, maybe less, than on the notebook.

Last edited by amgraham; 01-28-2018 at 03:58 PM. Reason: Typo
Appreciate 1
jaye944718.00

      01-29-2018, 05:23 PM   #10
TurboSid
Colonel
TurboSid's Avatar
393
Rep
2,925
Posts

Drives: 2017 M4 MW/SO ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 335i  [0.00]
For video editing u will want the fastest processor within your budget.

dedicated GPU will be your 2nd most important component followed by RAM.
__________________


2017 MW/SO M4 ZCP [CURRENT]
2015 MW/SO M4 M-DCT FBO [SOLD] 2011 AW/CR 335is DCT FBO [SOLD] 2008 AW/CR 335i 6MT FBO [SOLD]
Appreciate 1
jaye944718.00

      01-29-2018, 05:25 PM   #11
bimmer456
Brigadier General
1228
Rep
3,804
Posts

Drives: 340i
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pasadena, CA

iTrader: (0)

I saw this under the new posts and thought you were refering to the BMW i3 and i5 and I was like "what's an i5?"
Appreciate 1
jaye944718.00

      01-30-2018, 08:20 AM   #12
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
718
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmer456 View Post
I saw this under the new posts and thought you were refering to the BMW i3 and i5 and I was like "what's an i5?"
LOLZZZZZZZZ
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2018, 08:29 AM   #13
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
718
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

txs all,

yes I was thinking of getting an SSD as well, my problem Is/i found on doing
as I said multi track video dub overs, the first layer went fine, but when I try a 2nd it's slow but I have a work around, and 3rd is near impossibly.

Maybe an SSD would add some speed into that, also having a stand alone machine
with less bloatware would help

again the thought was got to an i5
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.




bmw
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST