10-29-2018, 11:16 AM   #1
Epirali
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW e Copper i8 Roadster

One owners opinion on the changes to the i8 Roadster

Hi everyone:

I have been loving my 2015 i8 for 3+ years now, and I have been toying with switching to the roadster since summer. I love the 2 seater idea of the i8 roadster, and honestly do not want "more power," but would appreciate refinements in delivery and suspension as others have noted.

So I finally went to test drive and potentially swap out mine this weekend. Here is my personal opinions and why I did not. It is not meant to be a review or non endorsement, just information others may find useful.

The overall look of the roadster is quite stunning, even in person. The new burnt orange color is much nicer in person than in photos (one of my concerns as I love the look of the protonic blue in different lights). And the drop top design and function is first rate, including what I heard as the sound isolation even in the showroom (double layer and as good as I have heard in a soft top).

But every interior detail changes the new team has made to make the car more "impressive" is a significant step backwards. For my aesthetics they have almost destroyed the subtle elegance of the original design and yet they have made so few changes. In order of "offensive:"

1) projected i8 logo from the door on the ground and on your footwell as you close the door. This is not a kid car, and gee I wonder what I am driving. It is so amateur and child like. I was going to swap out the lamp or just cover it if I got the car. Yes not a big deal but kind of tells you something, no?