Forum for the entire range of BMW electric vehicles
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW i3 Forums BMW i3 General Discussion

05-24-2022, 10:40 AM   #1
JoeCool88
Rep
Drives: BMW i3 94

Is the i3 passenger cell a Farady Cage?

As we all know the sheet metal passenger cell of a conventional car forms a Faraday Cage. I'm happy that it never happend to me, however scientists say that it protects you against the aftereffects of a lightning strike. Does anybody know if the i3 passenger cell, which is made of glas fiber and carbon fiber composite material, is a Faraday Cage, too?
If yes a short explanation why would calm me when driving through a Thunderstorm
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2022, 03:23 PM   #2
Noggie
Captain
Norway
Rep
Drives: E31 850i,i3s

well I guess its not a true faraday cage in any cars, if it was you phone would not work inside the car for example.

When I was an aircraft tech 20 years ago, the carbon fiber fairings on the planes were coated with a special conducting primer to divert lightning bolts to the special lightning diverters on the wings.

My guess is the BMW has either fitted some sort of conducting bonding between the parts of the body in the mold, or they have used a similar conducting primer.

I would not be worried about driving the car in a lightning storm.
-20 i3s
-20 Ducati Diavel 1260s
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2022, 04:26 PM   #3
ovekvam
Brigadier General
Norway
Rep
Drives: 2021 Galvanic Gold i3S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noggie View Post
well I guess its not a true faraday cage in any cars, if it was you phone would not work inside the car for example.

When I was an aircraft tech 20 years ago, the carbon fiber fairings on the planes were coated with a special conducting primer to divert lightning bolts to the special lightning diverters on the wings.

My guess is the BMW has either fitted some sort of conducting bonding between the parts of the body in the mold, or they have used a similar conducting primer.