BMW i
Forum for the BMW i3, i4 and i8
BMW i3 BMW i8
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

  BMW i Forums > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-06-2018, 12:31 PM   #1
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
746
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

testing HDMI cable

question, on our basement reno, I'm getting an HDMI cable fit into conduit, for the laptop to tv (when I get it), the run is long but to be sure I'm getting a 100ft cable.

now some questions

1> will there be any significant loss the longer you go, would there be a difference between say 75 or 100 ft ? Not got the TV but thinking 4K ? or at least minimum HD, probably between 50"-70" screen

2> Testing: so I can test the cable before install, but when it's run in, other than lugging a monitor or a TV is there any other way to test that the cable didnt get snagged, cut or otherwise damaged when fishing it through, or is it really a non-question ?

thanks !
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2018, 12:33 PM   #2
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
746
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

oh, as I'm probably looking at a smart TV, is there a way, to instead of HDMI, use my laptop in some way to "wifi" to the TV ? The TV can connect to my router and my laptop too, is there a way to as I said, wifi between the 2 negating the need for a cable ?

txsx again
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2018, 12:44 PM   #3
SFCM3
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
961
Rep
1,520
Posts

Drives: 2011.75 E90 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (3)

there is loss on a 100ft cable. When we remodelled our place i had hdmi cables run all over for ease of connection to TV, some of the longer cables (50ft) definately have connection issues, even some of the 25ft runs can be a little touchy.
__________________
I am never able to post pictures on forums, all my pics are on IG @baye30 https://www.instagram.com/baye30/
Current Garage - [2011 E90 M3 ZCP] [2005 E53 X5 3.0 Sport] [1988 E30 325IS 24V]
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2018, 03:43 PM   #4
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
746
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

great txs for the prompt reply !
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2018, 03:54 PM   #5
jgoens
Major General
jgoens's Avatar
3532
Rep
5,724
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i msport
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Mateo, CA

iTrader: (0)

Not sure if this applies to you....I have a computer hooked up to my plasma TV with a long run. I ran 100ft of Cat 5 from my main IP modem to a router near the TV. From there I have an ethernet cable to the computer and run an HDMI to a receiver and then HDMI to the tv. All wires run through crawl spaces and behind walls.

So, the TV is really just a monitor in which I access and control internet from a wireless keyboard and mouse from the sofa.
__________________
2013 335i Msport Black sapphire/Coral red. MHD. stage 2--e30 VRSF DP, ER CP, Dinan Shockware. VRSF 12mm/15mm spacers. Cobra dashcam. Various codings.
Last car: 2011 335i Msport. JB4. Vrsf CP
Appreciate 2
Now_Rudi5746.00
jaye944746.00

      09-06-2018, 04:18 PM   #6
Now_Rudi
I go by many names
Now_Rudi's Avatar
5746
Rep
1,226
Posts

Drives: Magic Carpet
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: In a cabinet

iTrader: (0)

If you get a smart tv, you can mirror the laptop to the TV as long as you have a strong wifi signal. I do this with my TV in the living room and bedroom. Thus negating a need for a cable, the work for installing conduit and the expense.

Shame you have me on ignore and won't see my response.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2018, 05:01 PM   #7
Z K
Brigadier General
Z K's Avatar
United_States
1389
Rep
4,813
Posts

Drives: E90 M3, F30 328i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (3)

It also depends what signal you are looking to get out of your HDMI cable. A run of 100ft will not pass 4K video content. 1080p is possible but may have some drop outs without a booster.

You'll need some fancy active fiber optic HDMI cable set up to be able to pass 4K video 18Gbps.
__________________
Auto Detailing Enthusiast!
Appreciate 1
jaye944746.00

      09-06-2018, 05:08 PM   #8
Emilime75
Major
487
Rep
1,250
Posts

Drives: 2010 335i
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: X

iTrader: (1)

I'm a commercial AV integrator, and here's what I can tell you.

First of, HDMI specs 45' max for length, anything beyond that is out of the official specification. This doesn't mean things won't work with a cable that's longer, but it also depends on the cable itself, the source and the display. Some sources/cables/displays play nicer together than others.

"Active" cables exist and are able to push the signal further. They have an amplifier built in to the cable and use the small amount of voltage available on an HDMI port to work. These cables tend to be pricy and are directional...they will have the source and display ends labeled and if you pull/connect it in the opposite direction it will not work.

HDMI transmitters-receivers over Category wire exist, and they are the preferred method of carrying video over long distances. They consist of a "transmitter" that a source is plugged into via HDMI, this than converts the signal and sends it over Category wire to a "receiver" which then converts it back to HDMI. Depending on brand/model, these can send signals up to 330', some longer, but 330' is the max specified length due to the length limit spec of Cat6 wire.

If you choose to go the transmitter/receiver way, make sure you buy one with the HDBaseT chip and use Cat6 wire for your pull, even if the box says it'll work over Cat5. Cat5 is obsolete in the AV world and the cost difference of Cat6 you need here will be minimal.

And a final thought, HDMI is finicky and fragile, I actually hate it. If you're going to be pulling an HDMI cable through walls/ceilings/conduit...be gentle with it. Tie your pull string further up the cable so it doesn't pull on the end, and tape it tight so the connector can't get caught on anything.
Appreciate 2
jaye944746.00
jgoens3532.00

      09-06-2018, 05:21 PM   #9
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
746
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

Txs all,

I'm going to do a change, the PM, wanted to run conduit, from where the LT would be to the TV, it's a long run (he's taking some long route), but I have a problem, that though HDMI works for say netflicks, IF I wanna DJ through my mixer HDMI won't work, I usually need a combination of stuff.

SO, I'm going to simulate what I've got upstairs, my TV, will connect to a Denon receiver/amp/speakers via HDMI, Now that is only a 6-10ft run.
BUT that won't let me video DJ

I'm going to try and get a composite video or maybe a VGA to HDMI connector or similar from my laptop to the TV and the audio output will go to my DJ mixer, I'll run it along the baseboard in a surface conduit, that run would be about 15feet

As it's a bit hit and miss trying to work out the connectors, I'll need to do a suck it and see method.

When I was DJ'ing at a party, I had the same problem, they had an overhead projector, which worked fine through HDMI, but when I tried to connect the AUDIO from my laptop to the mixer, I couldnt get any sound out of the laptop.

So in the end I had to do a VGA cable, and then my audio out from my laptop worked
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2018, 05:22 PM   #10
jaye944
Captain
No_Country
746
Rep
638
Posts

Drives: a
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: a

iTrader: (0)

Of course the PM seems to be coming out with all these great Ideas, but things cost, added to the bill at the end

Wifes paying and why not !
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2018, 10:10 PM   #11
jgoens
Major General
jgoens's Avatar
3532
Rep
5,724
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i msport
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Mateo, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emilime75 View Post

And a final thought, HDMI is finicky and fragile, I actually hate it. If you're going to be pulling an HDMI cable through walls/ceilings/conduit...be gentle with it. Tie your pull string further up the cable so it doesn't pull on the end, and tape it tight so the connector can't get caught on anything.
You got that right--especially at the connectors. I've got HDMI all over the place and every now and then have to plug them back in.
__________________
2013 335i Msport Black sapphire/Coral red. MHD. stage 2--e30 VRSF DP, ER CP, Dinan Shockware. VRSF 12mm/15mm spacers. Cobra dashcam. Various codings.
Last car: 2011 335i Msport. JB4. Vrsf CP
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2018, 11:45 AM   #12
Z K
Brigadier General
Z K's Avatar
United_States
1389
Rep
4,813
Posts

Drives: E90 M3, F30 328i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgoens View Post
You got that right--especially at the connectors. I've got HDMI all over the place and every now and then have to plug them back in.
Given how fast HDMI standards change and the new resolutions and capabilities change, I would not want to run HDMI in a place that is not easily replaceable.

In the past 10 years, I've had to replace HDMI cables twice already. Luckily I have carpet so I run the cables under the carpet. Replacing them is not as hard as if it was in the walls.
__________________
Auto Detailing Enthusiast!
Appreciate 1
jaye944746.00

      09-25-2018, 02:55 PM   #13
GoneIn4Secs
Major
Canada
635
Rep
1,093
Posts

Drives: '18 M2
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: gta Canada

iTrader: (0)

Id think twice before sitting there in wifi all day long

I know were already bathed in wifi, but u don't need to increase where u dont need to
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2018, 06:05 PM   #14
Z K
Brigadier General
Z K's Avatar
United_States
1389
Rep
4,813
Posts

Drives: E90 M3, F30 328i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoneIn4Secs View Post
Id think twice before sitting there in wifi all day long

I know were already bathed in wifi, but u don't need to increase where u dont need to
I'm more concerned for 5G. Wifi is relatively low power and short range. 5G will have high speed but over a very wide area. The amount of power to broadcast that fast that far will be high.
__________________
Auto Detailing Enthusiast!
Appreciate 1
jaye944746.00

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 PM.




bmw
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST