Forum for the entire range of BMW electric vehicles
Random lines
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW i8 Forums BMW i8 General Discussion

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-29-2016, 03:01 AM   #1
Arobotbrain
Private
Switzerland
38
Rep
80
Posts

Drives: Audi S5
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Drivetrain error, should I worry?

Had a drivetrain error this morning with the message saying that the engine cannot anymore be turned on after switching it off. Drove for about 20 minutes, turned it off and was able to turn it on again. Error log shows now malfunction. It is, as if the problem never existed. Should I be worrying or was this more like a software glitch?
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2016, 03:45 AM   #2
fishpond
First Lieutenant
United Kingdom
77
Rep
367
Posts

Drives: i8
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arobotbrain View Post
Had a drivetrain error this morning with the message saying that the engine cannot anymore be turned on after switching it off. Drove for about 20 minutes, turned it off and was able to turn it on again. Error log shows now malfunction. It is, as if the problem never existed. Should I be worrying or was this more like a software glitch?
I had this message 3 or 4 times, but it restarted fine and cleared every time.

I didn't bother booking it in just for that but I asked BMW to investigate it when I booked it in to receive my display/smart key. They looked into it (probably did a software update) and it hasn't happened since.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2016, 04:14 AM   #3
Nivarox
Quadrex
Nivarox's Avatar
523
Rep
1,308
Posts

Drives: W212 Mercedes=Benz E Class
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Close To German Car Dealer

iTrader: (0)

I have read that at least one of the forum members had seen that message and dealership had to replace the module because of starting failure of the car .
Hope,yours never poses a trouble like that
__________________
Comparing BMW i8 to Tesla Is Like Comparing Apples to Pineapples
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2016, 03:36 PM   #4
Arobotbrain
Private
Switzerland
38
Rep
80
Posts

Drives: Audi S5
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nivarox View Post
I have read that at least one of the forum members had seen that message and dealership had to replace the module because of starting failure of the car .
Hope,yours never poses a trouble like that
Thanks, I saw this message and error was slightly different. Anyhow, hope too that this does not get any worse.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2016, 03:38 PM   #5
Arobotbrain
Private
Switzerland
38
Rep
80
Posts

Drives: Audi S5
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishpond View Post
I had this message 3 or 4 times, but it restarted fine and cleared every time.

I didn't bother booking it in just for that but I asked BMW to investigate it when I booked it in to receive my display/smart key. They looked into it (probably did a software update) and it hasn't happened since.
Thanks, will adopt the same strategy.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2016, 04:02 PM   #6
comrie
New Member
comrie's Avatar
4
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2017 i8 silver
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK....perthshire

iTrader: (0)

hi,

just joined the forum.....unfortunately my car came up with the drive-train error this weekend plus additional errors on the re gen braking...pedestrian sensor....plus it would not shift out off park.....called bmw who arranged a recovery for the next day...luckily the next day it would let me put it in drive so getting on the recovery truck was easier than anticipated....just got a call from the dealer who says it has an eme fault ...so that needs to be replaced, the part is on back order and is a 14 hour job to fit.....this is a 2016 May build car.....not to happy.

stv
Appreciate 1
mirms0.00
      10-02-2016, 04:57 AM   #7
Aye-eight
Major
Aye-eight's Avatar
Switzerland
504
Rep
1,178
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW i8
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: My garage

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
"Drivetrain error" seems to be a rather broad error classification on the i8. Some people's cars seem to snap right out of it on restart. Others (like mine, twice) become completely immobilized. Mine hasn't caused any trouble anymore over the last 17'000 km, after they did software updates and replaced a gearbox sensor. Knock on wood. But if I ever get such a message again, it's straight into the shop. Not taking any chances.
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2016, 07:01 PM   #8
jnkirk1974
Lieutenant
jnkirk1974's Avatar
United_States
87
Rep
488
Posts

Drives: 2018 Porsche Carrera 4 GTS
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rockwall, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
See if it was similar to my error. Got it fixed last week. Dealer had to install a wiring harness.

http://bmwi.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=1304221

The error would tell me that the car wouldn't be able to be restarted (even though, it restarted just fine...every time).

The error would also show a regenerative braking malfunction.
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2020, 10:28 PM   #9
murthy
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW i8 Protonic Red
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

Hi Guys,
I am new to this forum.
I had this 'Drivetrain fault' 2 days ago! I couldnt drive. It would start but kept going back to 'Parking' and 'P' kept flashing. Multiple attempts with different keys didnt help.

It had to be towed to BMW dealer. Hope nothing major. It is good that it is under warranty still.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2020, 03:24 PM   #10
eswimm
Private
20
Rep
70
Posts

Drives: 2015 i8
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnkirk1974 View Post
See if it was similar to my error. Got it fixed last week. Dealer had to install a wiring harness.

http://bmwi.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=1304221

The error would tell me that the car wouldn't be able to be restarted (even though, it restarted just fine...every time).

The error would also show a regenerative braking malfunction.
Interesting, exact same combination of alerts I've had pop up a few times. They've tried software and 12V replacement, but keeps coming back. Any supporting data on the work order that might be useful steering my dealer to a solution?
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2020, 03:49 PM   #11
Juuso
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: I8
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

I also got couple of months ago first drivetrain error and RBS faulty messages with "cant restart engine after shut down". Gladly message went of everytime I restart car again. Couple of weeks ago message start come almost everytime I drove, so took it to BMW. They change "REM" wiring (regenerative braking wiring) and update software after that. whole cost was less than 1000. Part cost 70 and rest was coding, faulty finding, software, etc etc and 2h real work.
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2021, 04:56 AM   #12
talal.eladaoui@hotmail.co
Registered
2
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW 523i F10 2010
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Drivetrain BMW F10 523i

Sometimes when I start the car early in the morning the car vibrates a little and the message appears with the drivetrain `` Full performance not available ''. I turned it off and then start the car again, and it is completely gone. Should I be anxious or do something?

Note that I checked before and changed one of the coils!
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2021, 09:54 AM   #13
F5506m
Second Lieutenant
31
Rep
217
Posts

Drives: 2019 i8
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

any of these 2019 or later MY cars are these are mostly pre-LCI?
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2021, 08:04 AM   #14
midenginetoys
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW i8 2015
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Boca Raton, Fl.

iTrader: (0)

Hey i8'ers, also new to this forum. Had that "drive train" issue/message and car would not go into Sport mode, noticed that it popped up after I gave it a wash. I've had the 2015 for 4+ years, wash it every week without any issues. Popped the hood open, dried off any excess water I saw, plugged it in and didn't drive it for a day. Started up fine, message popped up, put it in Sport mode (it allowed me), message went away and hasn't come back (-:
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2021, 12:38 PM   #15
califorbmw
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2013 X5
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Rancho Cucamonga CA

iTrader: (0)

I had a similar problem and it turned out to be the battery. There is an article named "BMW Drivetrain Malfunction Drive Moderately Problem by Youcanic" that explains this error very well.
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2021, 10:56 AM   #16
mirms
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW I3
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Drivetrain Malfunction Error /Compressor

Hi got the message back in August after I charged it in a fast charge station (wondering if that caused the problem btw)took them a month to fix , parts were back order it was the compressor that failed and sent metal particles in the a/c system cost was over 11000$ / 14 hour job too but luckily was covered by extended warranty
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.




bmw
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST